Skip to content

Help Center

Copies

Creating copies allow you to share a specific version as if it was a new document. This new document has its own members and draft versions, it can then push versions back to the parent document.

This is very handy when you need to share a document with a person who should not see all the draft versions, e.g. sharing a contract with a client or gathering feedback from senior management.

To create a copy, navigate to the version of an existing document you want to share and select the ‘Push to Copy’ link from the Actions menu:

After selecting “Push to copy”, you will be taken to the copies management screen. If you are creating a new copy for the first time you will see something similar to the following:

Type a new name for the copy in the box provided – it should be related to the original but also clearly state the purpose for the diversion.

This copy will appear as a new document which clearly states it has been copied. You can then invite members and work on this document like any other.

Any member can then “Push a copy” back to the master document. Just like above, select “Push a copy” from the document options menu. You will now see the “Master document” as an option to push to:

The pushed copy will then appear in its own separate branch in the master copy:

The pushed version, is then treated like any other version and can be edited or merged with the master branch:

You do not need to be a member of the parent document (or copy) to push copies to it. If you push to a document for which you do not have access – a member will need to review your “push” and accept or reject it. Members will see the following:

If the copy is accepted, then the copy becomes a regular version. If it’s reject, it will be removed from view and the “pusher” of the copy informed.

Can't find the answer you need? Contact us!

Our team are available to answer any questions you have

Support Images